Please log in to access your purchased courses.

U.S. Department of Transportation Modes

As was discussed in the Designated Employer Representative Training for Department of Transportation Compliance, mandated testing guidelines apply to all employees working in safety-sensitive positions in the transportation industry.

Within DOT there are six different transportation modes. These include:

Federal Transit Administration (FTA) –
49 CFR Part 655

Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) –
49 CFR Part 219

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
49 CFR Part 38

U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) –
49 CFR Part 4 & 16

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)–
49 CFR Part 199

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is plane.png

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) –
49 CFR Part 120

Businesses and organizations regulated by one of these modes generally follow DOT testing regulations, processes and protocols. However, individual modes also have their own, slightly different, requirements regarding particular testing procedures.

It is critical for the Designated Employer Representative to understand and follow the particular requirements of the transportation mode that governs their industry. The employer risks non-compliance when following DOT protocols, but not those of their modal agency.

This course addendum details the protocols and processes required by the Federal Transit Authority (FTA) under 49 CFR Part 655. DERs working in public transportation must be knowledgeable about these protocols and processes.

Click on the lessons below to take the course.

DER Addendum: FTA – Modal Regulatory Guidelines DER Addendum: FTA – Employee & Supervisor Training DER Addendum: FTA – Records Retention